Most helpful review

Will not deliver pre-bought propane. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY

Thrifty Propane - Will not deliver pre-bought propane. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY
Purchased 2750 gal and a tank March of 2021. We have 1069 gal remaining to be delivered. Ordered propane a month ago, no delivery. If you actually get someone to answer the phone (they screen calls so you have to use different phone #'s to get any one to answer) no one...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3399195 Review #3399195 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chicago, Illinois
New Reviewer

Poor Service

Cannot get propane delivered from pre-buy balance. When deliveries are made only deliver 100 gallons to a 500 gallon tank. When you try get information about delivery status you either get hung up on or no return call. They are currently sending daily texts and emails trying encourage more pre-buy. It is of my opinion this company will be out of business, they are now only trying to create cash flow on product they will not deliver.
View full review
ID
#3538203 Review #3538203 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Trumbull, Ohio
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Requires an act of congress to get your tank filled even though have already purchased a pre buy order! My experience has been horrible for the past 3 years!

I am told that there is up to a 15-business day lead time for a fill. It sometimes goes more than 15 days and when they do come, they only give me a partial fill. Then I have to start the process all over again. I also have an account to fill my Churches tanks. The same thing happens. Right now our parsonage tank is at 1% and the family in the parsonage have been waiting over 15 business days. We have a cold spell coming up and they have 4 small children. Two of which are babies! This is totally unacceptable. I will never recommend Thrifty to anyone again.

User's recommendation: Purchase your propane somewhere else!

View full review
ID
#3490581 Review #3490581 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

Total Scam

Total scam.. They only take cash or checking.. Be aware..Don't fall into it. I almost did. Told the stupid lady on phone that I will pay with CC only. Still insisted on checking acct. number after I told her I didn't keep that much $$ in checking.. Stay away from these idiots. Do your homework online and read all of the complaints against these shady people...

User's recommendation: Do NOT fall for this scam.

View full review
ID
#3479439 Review #3479439 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Loss
$10000

Can't get my tank filled

I prepaid for gas, I paid for "storage fee's" and yet I make the only call all winter to ask for my tank to be filled all the way and the driver leaves me 100 gallons for a 500 gallon tank. This is a repeat issue. Go elsewhere
View full review
ID
#3425377 Review #3425377 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Twinsburg, Ohio

Worst propane provider ever, very dishonest.

Totally unreliable, prepaid for 3,000 gallons and ran out waiting for delivery. Had to purchase from America's and delivery was within 24 hours. No one should have to fight for product they paid for. Can not even get them to answer the phone.

User's recommendation: Any other propane supplier than Thrifty.

View full review
ID
#3401605 Review #3401605 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Baden, Pennsylvania
New Reviewer

Good prices - that's it. Arianna (sp) rudely hung up on me when I asked for the propane price breakdown. She sounded exasperated, said, "oh my God" and hung up.

Original review updated by user Mar 02, 2022
There is no customer service. I made the mistake of purchasing pre-buy. You then become a cockroach. Your order is held at least 15 days before processing - no matter your tank size or percentage, and they will limit the amount of propane they will deliver to you. I...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3377224 Review #3377224 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Rootstown, Ohio
Service
Thrifty Propane Propane Tank Refill
Pros
  • Price
Cons
  • Rude on the phone
  • Difficult to get through to a person on the phone
  • No customer service

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Unsatisfied customer

Paid over $4000 for pre-buy fuel and they have not delivered any propane since First I waited the 10 to 15 working days then I'm told they can't tell me when I will get a delivery because it's winter and Covid 19 Took the money from my checking within one hour of order Can't use credit card If they let me use credit card I could get a refund from the card company. I have 2 houses that are out of gas but they won't deliver what I paid for don't order

User's recommendation: don't order They are taking peoples money and do not intend to deliver any propane.

View full review
ID
#3369013 Review #3369013 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Green, Ohio
Cons
  • Taking money no deliverys
  • Lack of service and delivery
  • Being scammed
Loss
$4200
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Delivery of propane

i placed an order for fill on 6/1/21 it is 6/23/21 and I'm now out of fuel no delivery and no body will answer my calls !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
View full review
ID
#2629554 Review #2629554 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Thrifty Propane Delivery Service
Pros
  • Reasonably priced
  • Price
  • Low cost
Cons
  • Lack on industry-standard emergency service
  • Customer service sucks
  • Delivery and personal
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Company is a Sham

I was a previous employee, The owner Bill Maloof aka (consultant) was the owner of a previous propane company called Level Propane. He was sued and in a court of law is not allowed to deliver propane to residential houses EVER! The company is in his wifes name Angela...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2566180 Review #2566180 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Very bad
  • Lack on industry-standard emergency service
  • Being scammed

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: Updating prior review of March 11 2019

Update by user May 14, 2021

No Complaint.

Original review posted by user May 14, 2021
I did another prebuy of 2750 gallons prebuy and Thrifty has delivered per their terms. When you prebuy they charge multiple hazmat fees based on your prebuy size. In cases like mine, I have multiple tanks filed at once so I did pay for hazmat fees on deliveries that never occur. So you have to be careful and question fees at time of order placement. DO NOT USE WEBSITE TO PLACE ORDER CALL.

User's recommendation: Order by phone not website, challenge # of Hazmat fees on prebuy orders, understand their terms and conditions, have multiple tanks with excess capacity to ride out longer deliveries.

View full review
Resolved
ID
#2551581 Review #2551581 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Thrifty Propane Delivery Service
Pros
  • Reasonably priced
  • Best price
  • Low cost
New Reviewer

Failed to deliver and no responses from company

They failed to deliver my propane and I can't get a response from anyone in the company, either on email, voicemails I left or on the phone. NO STARS For REVIEW!

User's recommendation: stay away!

View full review
ID
#2428399 Review #2428399 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Lack of customer service
  • Customer service no info on delivery date
  • Lack of service and delivery
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Bad customer service

Original review updated by user Feb 16, 2021
You can never get customer service on the phone. You can leave a message but never get a call back. I was able to communicate with them by email but it was too late. When I questioned them about my 7-10 day delivery, they said it would take another two weeks. The weather wasnt great but I saw another company deliver propane to my neighbor which was day 12 anyway. Draining pipes now. Stay away from this company.

User's recommendation: Use another company even if you have to pay a little more.

View full review
ID
#2423011 Review #2423011 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Thrifty Propane Delivery Service
Cons
  • Lack of customer service

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

No response. Pre-buy is a trap.

After dealing with this company for over 15 years and receiving unpredictable but occasionally decent service, I began using their Pre-buy program. Once I paid up front for 1,000 or 1,200 gallons, service deteriorated. There is no good way of contacting this company. I have spent the last 26 days attempting to have them respond to an email, phone call or live chat all to no avail. What seems obvious now is that they gather up as much Pre-buy money over the warm months and then have no incentive to delivery propane for which they have already been paid. Why deliver my 569 gallons for no paycheck when they can deliver the same 569 gallons to someone who is going to write them a check for $1,138? If you need propane when winter hits, look elsewhere as I am doing.

User's recommendation: Pay more elsewhere if service matters.

View full review
ID
#2408953 Review #2408953 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Thrifty Propane Delivery Service
Pros
  • Low cost
Cons
  • Inability to speak with company or receive timely delivery
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Bad company

I give them one star because i could not give them zero the worse company you ever imagine and all the review it is correct i order propane gas month ago and i still did not get it finally after 3 days tried to call finally some one answer their phone i cancel and went with other company and believe it or not the new company was cheaper too ,so good bye for ever i take my business some where else.they are liar .please people stay away.

User's recommendation: stay away.

View full review
ID
#2406094 Review #2406094 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Apology

Warning to others

This is a horrible company to deal with! Maybe their prices are low BUT they will not deliver within their 15 day window EVER, they flat out lie to you when they say they will respond, they do not respond, when asked about delivery time they just say they will contact dispatch, they only deliver a tiny amount of propane at a time, and they are overall terrible. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!

View full review
ID
#2332103 Review #2332103 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
West Grove, Pennsylvania

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article